Filings for nine board of education and two Purcell City Council seats closed at 5 p.m. December 9 with just two races headed to the February 9 primary election.

Purcell Mayor Ted Cox and council member Theda Engert drew no opponents for their Division 2 and 3 seats, respectively.

Incumbent Kevin Andrews was the lone candidate for the Office 1 seat on Purcell’s school board.

He was appointed to Chelle McCaskill’s unexpired term in September.

Other school board incumbents who are unopposed for another term include:

  • Blanchard, Office 1 – David Paulk.
  • Lexington, Office 1 – Joe Torres.
  • Mid-America Technology Center, Office 2 – Michael Dillinger.
  • Newcastle, Office 3 – Tiffany M. Elcyzyn.
  • Washington, Office 1 – Monty Strickland is unopposed after Cody Grace withdrew on December 10.
  • Wayne, Office 1 – Jim Spencer.

On the ballot in February will be:

  • Dibble, Office 1 – Jason Ott, Omie Spieker. Incumbent Greg Hamby did not file.
  • Newcastle, Office 1 – T. Darrin Abel, Jeff Dingee (incumbent). A third candidate, Jeremy Gilbertson, withdrew Friday.

If needed following the primary, the general election for school board contests will be April 6.

You must be logged in to react.
Click any reaction to login.