In-person absentee voting in next week’s general election begins at 8 a.m. today (Thursday) at the McClain County Election Board office in the courthouse.

Hours are 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. today and Friday and 9 a.m. to 2 p.m. Saturday.

Precinct polling places will be open from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. on election day Tuesday.

But so far more than 1,200 McClain County voters have returned marked mail-in absentee ballots to the election board.

Karen Haley, McClain County Election Board secretary, compared the interest spike in voting by mail this year to the numbers recorded in the 2016 Presidential election.

Haley’s office mailed 1,261 ballots to voters in 2016. This election cycle, the office has mailed out 2,761 ballots – a whopping 119 percent more than four years ago.

Of the 1,261 ballots sent out four years ago, voters marked and returned 1,048 or 83.1 percent of them.

As of 3 p.m. Monday, the election board had received back 1,573 marked ballots. The deadline for voters to return their mailed ballots was 5 p.m. Tuesday.

Even though overall numbers were up this year, the rate of return has slowed from 83.1 percent in 2016 to 57 percent in 2020.

What it all means will come when the election board releases the county’s voting record next week when all the votes are counted.

At the top of the ballot are the Presidential and Vice Presidential candidates.

They are Donald Trump and Mike Pence, Republican; Joe Biden and Kamala Harris, Democrat; Jo Jorgensen and Jeremy Cohen, Libertarian.

There are also three independent teams running, including Jade Simmons and Claudeliah Roze, Kanye West and Michelle Tidball and Brock Pierce and Karla Ballard.

In Congressional races, Senate candidates are Jim Inhofe, Republican; Abby Broyles, Democrat; Robert Murphy, Libertarian, and Joan Farr and A.D. Nesbit, independents.

Candidates for the U.S. House are Tom Cole, Republican; Mary Brannon, Democrat, and Bob White, Libertarian..

State offices on the ballot are:

  • Corporation Commissioner – Todd Hiett, Republican; Todd Hagopian, Libertarian;
  • District 43 State Senate –  Jessica Garvin, Republican; Terri Reimer, Democrat.

Judicial retention votes are also sought on  three Oklahoma Supreme Court seats, two Oklahoma Court of Criminal Appeals seats and three Oklahoma Court of Civil Appeals seats.

Two state questions are also on the ballot.

You must be logged in to react.
Click any reaction to login.