Ballot box

In-person absentee voting for the June 30 election opens today (Thursday) at county election boards across Oklahoma.

Polling hours today and Friday will be 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. and Saturday from 9 a.m. to 2 p.m.

On election day, precinct polling places will be open from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m.

In addition to federal and state office primaries, voters will also be selecting the winners of runoff municipal and school board races.

In McClain County, those are:

  • Purcell City Council Division 1 – Graham Fishburn (I), Bill Boyle.
  • Purcell School Board Office 5 – Tracy Folsom (I), Kevin Andrews.
  • Dibble School Board Office 5 – Greg Hamby, Jennifer Mandrell.
  • Washington School Board Office 5 – Melinda Tague (I), Brooke Walkup.
  • Wayne School Board Office 5 – Jay Posey (I), Stephanie Montgomery.

A runoff race in Cleveland County for Noble City Council’s Ward 4 seat will be between Marge Hill (I) and Janet Riggio.

Candidates for Cleveland County offices are:

  • County Clerk, Republican – Tammy Belinson (I), Lisa Meyer.
  • County Court Clerk, Republican – Marilyn Williams (I), Lisa Jorns-Galey.
  • County Sheriff, Republican – Rick Adkins, Chris Amason, Tim Deal, Michael Freeman.

The federal primary races are:

  • U.S. Senate, Democrat – Sheila Bilyeu, Elysabeth Britt, Abby Broyles, R.O. Joe Cassity Jr.
  • U.S. Senate, Republican – Jim Inhofe (I), Neil Mavis, JJ Stitt, John Tompkins.
  • U.S. House of Representatives District 4, Democrat – John D. Argo, Mary Brannon, David R. Slemmons.
  • U.S. House of Representatives District 4, Republican – Tom Cole (I), Gilbert O. Sanders, Trevor Sipes, James Taylor.

State offices are:

  • Corporation Commission, Republican –Todd Hiett (I), Harold D. Spradling.
  • State Senate District 15, Democrat – Matt Hecox, Alex Scott.
  • State Senate District 43, Republican – Paul Scott (I), Jessica Garvin, Kaity Keith.
  • State Representative District 20, Republican – Sherrie Conley (I), Steve Herburger.
  • State Representative District 42, Republican – Cynthia Cindy Roe (I), Nicole Stevens.
  • State Representative District 91, Republican – Chris Kannady (I), Bruce Fleming.

Also on the ballot will be State Question 802 which puts the decision in the hands of the voters to accept annual funds from the federal government to expand Medicaid.

If needed, a runoff election for federal and state offices will be August 25. The general election is scheduled for November 3.

Only registered Republicans can vote in the state’s Republican primaries. Democrat primaries are open to both registered Democrat and Independent voters.

You must be logged in to react.
Click any reaction to login.